Mötley Crüe Photography

Mötley Crüe

The archetypal heavy metal band Mötley Crüe came together in Los Angeles circa 1981, consisting of front man Vince Neil, guitarist Mick Mars, bassist Nikki Sixx and drummer Tommy Lee. This line-up is perhaps the most colorful in all of glam metal history and also one of the most successful—selling more than 100 million albums around the world.

Some of the group’s most memorable projects include “Shout at the Devil,” “Theatre of Pain,” “Girls, Girls, Girls” and “Dr. Feelgood,” all of which contributed to their dominating the ’80s metal scene. Along the way, Mötley Crüe also notched fellow monster singles such as “Kickstart My Heart,” “Home Sweet Home” and “Wild Side,” which continue to be genre cornerstones today.

Though the Crüe experienced line-up shuffles and hiatuses throughout the ’90s and ’00s, the core four reunited in 2008 for the Saints of Los Angeles album and tour. In 2014, however, they signed a “cessation of touring agreement” before embarking on an extensive farewell tour that wrapped at Los Angeles’ Staples Center on December 31, 2015.

per page

per page